29th Annual Spring Golf Classic a HUGE Success!

Spring certainly has sprung, and weather was sunny yet windy for the Greater Sebring Chamber of Commerce's 29th Annual Spring Golf Classic, sponsored by MIDFLORIDA Credit Union. The 4-person scramble tournament was held on Saturday, April 9 on the Deer Run course at the Sun ‘N Lake Golf Club.

The 37 teams, or 148 golfers, battled it out for over $4,000 in prizes, and a large majority of the teams were corporate teams duking it out for the bragging rights to be the Sebring Chamber champions. The tournament proved to be a big winner for a number of golfers. Aleema Jack won the $250 longest drive contest sponsored by the Alan Jay Automotive Network with a drive at 260 yards. Evan Danzey also took home $250 cash compliments of Alan Jay with a closest to the pin shot that was 6’2” away from the pin. John Ristau won the Closest to the Pin 50/50 contest, bringing in an additional $260 cash payout with a shot that was 7’11” from the pin. Unfortunately, none of the participants were able to score the $10,000 cash prize for the coveted Hole-In-One contest sponsored by Heacock Insurance.

Of the four flights, the first flight proved to be tight competition. 1st place went to the team of David Schumaker, Bud Wester, Jeff Klingbiel and Mike Cleghorn with a score of 59; 2nd place went to the Highlands Ridge team of Mark Benz, Fred Fleetwood, Bill Murphy and Kim Lathwell with a score of 60; 3rd place went to Mark Carmanda, Glen Jackson, Gordon Hamilton and Gary Philips with a score of 61.

The second flight was an even closer call, with both 1st and 2nd place scoring a 61. 1st place was won by Nate Certvanes, Charlie Cervantes, Rob Torress and Rob DeLong with a score of 61; 2nd place was won by the Ramon Torres, MD team of Ramon Torres, Herbert Douglasen, Ed Cueva and Jessie Bautiste with a score of 61; 3rd place won with a score of 62 by Team News Sun including Glen Nickerson, Ryan Danzey, Evan Danzey and Aleema Jack.

For the third flight, 1st place was won by the team of Fred Blake, Dave Onsted, Don Young and Paul Lewis with a score of 62; 2nd place was taken by the team of Jim Lobozzo, John Munson, Kevin Cleghorn and Scott Leconey with a score of 62; 3rd place was won by Heacock Insurance team of JC Shoop, Blake Steedley, Roland Bishop, and Daniel Leclaire with a score of 66.

For the fourth flight, 1st place was won by the Agero team of Barry Bitner, Gary Hortubise, Austin Weed, and Ken Danielson with a score of 67; 2nd place was taken by the Century 21 Advanced team of Ronnie Carter, Don Johnson, David Boersma and Jason Carter with a score of 69; 3rd place was won by the Sebring International Raceway team of Kiko Vazquez, Tony Vazquez, Andrew Fells and Alex Fells with a score of 70.

Liz Barber, President/CEO of the Sebring Chamber, was very pleased with the outcome of the tournament. “This is one of our most important fundraisers of the year, bringing in over $7,000 to our non-profit organization. We couldn’t have done it with the help and support of our golf committee headed by Dusty Johnson, our sponsors, board of directors, volunteers, staff and donors. It takes a lot of hard work to make events come together, and we’re a blessed organization that’s fortunate to have such outstanding community support.”